New Jersey veteran asks key questions after seeing CNN story in Kentucky

To the People of Beattyville Kentucky:

I am a senior citizen and I live in Princeton, New Jersey. When it was my time, I proudly served in the United States military. The first time I voted, I voted for John F. Kennedy in 1960. I have voted in every election since then. I have always paid my taxes. I consider myself to be a loyal, patriotic American. I am not alone, there are millions of Americans who are like me.

PoppyHarlow in Beatyville Pic
CNN’s Poppy Harlow in Beattyville

Earlier this year, I watched CNN reporter Poppy Harlow as she reported from Beattyville, Kentucky. Her report brought out how people in Kentucky are struggling to make ends meet. How the economy of Beattyville is not good.

I have a question for citizens of Beattyville and citizens of Kentucky: Your senator, Mitch McConnell, since he has been in Congress, has made himself a rich man. I understand he is worth more than 30 million dollars. His wife, Elaine Chao, who was just appointed by President Trump as Secretary of Transportation, is worth more than 24 million dollars. Senator McConnell represents two of the poorest counties in the all of America, Clay County, Kentucky and Harlan County, Kentucky. So, I ask, what has Senator McConnell done for the people of these poor counties and what has he done for the people of Beattyville?

Beattyville Water Towers

And how has he gotten to be so rich? Instead of going on a crusade to “make President Obama a one term president” and instead of going on a crusade to steal a seat on the Supreme Court from the Democrats, why does Senator McConnell not go on a crusade to help out his own constituents? His constituents are struggling, and he is a very rich man.

Mitch and Chao
Mitch McConnell and Elaine Chao

Denying a wonderful Judge Merrick Garland a seat on the Supreme Court was, in my opinion, un-American, un-patriotic, and will haunt the Republicans one day. I know Senator McConnell defeated a good candidate in the last election, Alison Lundergan Grimes. I am sure Candidate Lundergan Grimes would have helped the struggling people of Kentucky more that McConnell has. I suggest in the next election for senator, you consider to “ditch Mitch” and elect someone who will know and help the good people of Kentucky.

Thank you,

Howard W. Silbersher

Princeton, New Jersey.

Click here to watch the CNN report with Poppy Harlow in Beatyville. 

###

Leave a Reply

